MEA Honors Student Leaders

MEA Honors Student Leaders
Posted on 05/31/2017

MEA Student LeadersOn April 26, the Mason Education Association presented the “Shining Lights of Leadership” awards of distinction to outstanding Mason City School students.  Awards were given to 15 Mason Early Childhood Center, Western Row Elementary, Mason Intermediate School, and Mason Middle School students who were nominated by their teachers and selected by a committee for having excelled as leaders and good citizens.  Students in the top five percent of the MHS Class of 2017 were also recognized by their teachers for their high academic su​​​​ccess and intellectual prowess.  MEA officers and members expressed gratitude to the seniors for inspiring their peers and teachers alike. In-between the awards of distinction, the MEA Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Madison Giessler.

The MEA Shining Lights are: Kindergartener Frannie Korth nominated by Michelle Hastings;  second grader Kate Cromer nominated by Janine Schatz and Katie Rinck; third graders Mitchell Crissman nominated by Jill Hartsock, Erin Chesar, Corri Doenecke and Whitney Young, Amelia Eshman, Anna Polca and Sydney Wackler nominated by Kelly Gholz; fourth graders Olivia Binkis nominated by Melissa Anderson and Cindy Smith and Ella Hardesty nominated by Heather Nagel and Shawna Bender; fifth graders Vidhi Bakshi nominated by Team Imagination Abby Brewer, Kin Rader and Vicki Chappel, and Carson Downs nominated by Rebecca Williams and Amy Whitling; sixth grader Carter Vaughn nominated by Team Endeavor Amy Burns, Beth DeBord, Lauren England and Erika Stansberry; seventh graders Caroline Bishop nominated by Eric Schatzle and Tyler Vaughan nominated by Jon Reichle; and eighth graders Bethany Dye nominated by Sara Leigh-Manuell and Zhu "Ying" Yao Pei nominated by Emily Pate.

"The Shining Lights awards night is one of the highlights of our year.  It is so special to see these amazing students being honored by their teachers and adored by their families.” said Audrey Gorman, MEA Recording Secretary and Event Coordinator. “It is truly a wonderful evening of celebration for the children’s accomplishments."

Top 5%The seniors were given a fountain pen with the reminder to be impeccable with every word and to think of the teachers who guided them along their educational path so far.  The top 5 percent of the Mason High School Class of 2016 are: Ruthvik Abbu, Vardhan Avasarala, Chinmay Bakshi, Katy ByerlyXindi Chen, Sritej Devineni, Clarence Gao, Sneha Gundavarpu, Amy Huang, Tanvi Jagtap, Aditya Jog, Sneha Kandi, Jocelyn Kang, Andrew Kemme, Justin Kim, Lizzy Kong, Mihir Kotian, Nicole Kraimer, Prachi Lele, Matthew Liao, Alekhya Mannava, Kira Nikolaides, Zachary Oldham, Akhil Pallerla, Kunal Patil, Nihar Rama, Nathan Rodrigues, Suhaas Sameera, Anamika Shah, Alexander Shearer, Aditya Singh, Rujul Singh, Dennis Sweeney, Samuel Varner, Sreeram Venkatarao, Scott Vennemeyer, Emily Wang, Jessica Wang, Shirley Yang, Jane Yu, Tiffany Yu, Mei Yuan, Jenny Zhang, and Emily Zhao.

“As a part of our mission to promote both equity and excellence in education, we think it is important to pause to acknowledge student exemplars,” MEA President Maria Mueller stated. “We appreciate the positive contributions these students made to our classrooms and to the greater school community. It has been our pleasure to assist them on this portion of their journey to fulfilling their dreams.”

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.