23 MHS Students Named National Merit Finalists

23 MHS Students Named National Merit Finalists

Mason High School has the most National Merit Finalists in school history. The 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program named 23 MHS students as National Merit Finalists: Julianne Berry, Alexander Chung, Andrew Gao, Clare Hagen, Prajwal Hegde, Kedi Hu, Wenrui Huang, Caleb Kim, Kevin Liu, Divya Manoharan, Dennison Min, Vighnesh Ramesh, Amith Rao, Jeet Shah, Daniel Song, Radhika Upadhye, Divya Vinod, Sriharsha Voleti, Anthony Wang, Hao Wu, Singyi Yen, Alvin Zhang and James Zhu.  These students were chosen based on their SAT scores, having an outstanding academic record, their extracurricular and volunteer activities, being endorsed and recommended by a high school official, and a self-descriptive essay. All Finalists will receive a Certificate of Merit in recognition of their outstanding performance in the competition.


MHS Principal Dave Hyatt congratulated the students for their accomplishment. “We’re extremely proud of these Mason High School students. These students are academically talented, yes, but they all also work very hard and their leadership makes our school better. They have made a huge impact on their teachers, on their classmates, and are poised to make a huge impact on the world.”


On October 27, 2015, the Mason City Schools Board of Education honored the schools’ 23 National Merit Semifinalists (who are all now Finalists), 29 National Merit Commended Scholars, and three Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars. Watch the videos highlighting the Commended Scholars and Finalists’ future plans.


The National Merit Scholarship Program is a prestigious academic competition for recognition and scholarship that began in 1955.  High school students enter the National Merit Program as juniors by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test --a test which serves as an initial screen of more than 1.5 million entrants each year-- and by meeting additional program requirements.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.